Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2016: Forming in the pupil of an eye

We have a soft spot for the Kochi-Muziris Biennale, perhaps in part because Kerala is so damned attractive, but the 2016 edition – curated by Sudarshan Shetty – doesn’t need any extra support. Under the title Forming in the pupil of an eye, the Biennale is set to be the largest event of its kind in South Asia and will run for 108 days from 12 December to 29 March.

Shetty’s vision for the 2016 Biennale draws from mythical accounts of India as the “land of seven rivers”. Looking at motifs from tradition and community, he’s asked the participants to respond to a key question: “What does it mean to be together in time – to be contemporary?”

In keeping with its curatorial vision, this edition of the Biennale attempts to question and blur the boundaries that categorise the various disciplines of artistic expression.

For this, its third edition, a total of 97 artists have been invited to create new work across the city of Kochi. There’s a strong ancillary programme of talks, seminars, workshops, film screenings and music sessions across venues in Fort Kochi-Mattanchery and Ernakulam.

We particularly like the Students Biennale, comprising works of 450 students from 54 art institutions across the country. Ongoing programmes include residencies, an artists exchange programme from next year onwards, an arts and medicine event, master practitioner studios, and assistance to young visual artists by helping them cut a work at a newly-installed video lab.

KMB 2016 participating artists:

Abhishek Hazra (India)
Abir Karmakar (India)
Achraf Touloub (Morocco/France)
AES+F (Russia)
Ahmet Öğüt (Turkey/Germany)
Aki Sasamoto (Japan/USA)
Aleksandra Ska (Poland)
Aleš Šteger (Slovenia)
Alex Seton (Australia)
Alicja Kwade (Poland/Germany)
Anamika Haksar (India)
Anand (India)
Avinash Veeraraghavan (India)
Bara Bhaskaran (India)
Bharat Sikka (India)
Bob Gramsma (Switzerland)
C Bhagyanath (India)
Camille Norment (USA/Norway)
Carl Pruscha and Eva Schlegel (Austria)
Caroline Duchatelet (France)
Charles Avery (UK)
Chittrovanu Mazumdar (India)
Chris Mann (Australia/USA)
Dai Xiang (China)
Dana Awartani (Saudi Arabia)
Daniele Galliano (Italy)
Desmond Lazaro (UK/India)
Dia Mehta Bhupal (India)
E P Unny (India)
Endri Dani (Albania)
Erik van Lieshout (Netherlands)
Éva Magyarósi (Hungary)
Eva Schlegel (Austria)
François Mazabraud (France)
G R Iranna (India)
Gabriel Lester (Netherlands)
Gary Hill (USA)
Gauri Gill (India)
Hanna Tuulikki (UK)
Himmat Shah (India)
István Csákány (Hungary)
Javier Peréz (Spain)
Jonathan Owen (UK)
K R Sunil (India)
Kabir Mohanty (India)
Kalakshetra Manipur (India)
Katarina Zdjelar (Netherlands)
Katrīna Neiburga and Andris Eglītis (Latvia)
Khaled Sabsabi (Lebanon/Australia)
 Lantian Xie (UAE)
Latifa Echakhch (Morocco/Switzerland)
Leighton Pierce (USA)
Lisa Reihana (New Zealand)
Liu Wei (China)
Lundahl & Seitl (Sweden)
Mansi Bhatt (India)
Martin Walde (Austria)
Mikhail Karikis (Greece/UK)
Miller Puckette (USA)
Naiza Khan (Pakistan/UK)
Nicola Durvasula and John Tilbury (UK)
Orijit Sen (India)
Ouyang Jianghe (China)
Padmini Chettur (India)
Paweł Althamer (Poland)
Pedro Gómez-Egaña (Colombia/Norway)
P K Sadanandan (India)
Prabhavathi Meppayil (India)
Praneet Soi (India/Netherlands)
Rachel Maclean (UK)
Rajeev Thakker (India)
Raúl Zurita (Chile)
Ravi Agarwal (India)
Remen Chopra (India)
Salman Toor and Hasan Mujtaba (Pakistan/USA)
Samooha (India)
Sergio Chejfec (Argentina/USA)
Sharmistha Mohanty (India)
Shumona Goel and Shai Heredia (India)
Sirous Namazi (Iran/Sweden)
Sophie Dejode and Lacombe (France)
Subrat Behera (India)
Sunil Padwal (India)
T Shanaathanan (Sri
T V Santhosh (India)
Takayuki Yamamoto (Japan)
Tom Burckhardt (USA)
Tony Joseph (India)
Valerie Mejer Caso (Mexico)
Voldemārs Johansons (Latvia)
Wu Tien-Chang (Taiwan)
Wura-Natasha Ogunji (Nigeria/USA)
Yael Efrati (Israel)
Yang Hongwei (China)
Yardena Kurulkar (India)
Yuko Mohri (Japan)
Zuleikha Chaudhari (India)


Info: www.kochimuzirisbiennale.org

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply